Technical setup for the 24th International Congress Renovabis
In 2020, the 24th International Congress Renovabis took place as an online conference.
Source: Heike Faehndrich
Review

24th International Congress Renovabis

The International Congress Renovabis has served the dialogue between East and West for many years. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it was held as an online conference for the first time in 2020, and its content also focused on the effects of the Corona crisis on church and society in Eastern Europe.

24th International Congress Renovabis

Online instead of offline

Originally, the 24th International Congress Renovabis was to take place in Munich from 9-11 September 2020 – however, due to travel restrictions during the COVID-19 pandemic and in order not to take any unnecessary risks for all participants, the planning team had decided to postpone the planned presence event on the topic „Ecumenism in Central and Eastern Europe – Task and Enrichment“ until 2021.
Nevertheless, Renovabis wanted to get into conversation with its partners and friends about what people around the world were concerned about in the last months: The Corona Pandemic. Therefore, from 8-10 September 2020 seven online-based individual events were held on the topic COVID-19: A new Challenge for Church and Society in East and West. More than 280 people registered for the Zoom-based meetings and participated in discussions, chatted and listened attentively.

Corona and the People on the Edge of Society: We need to talk!

Tuesday, 8 September 2020 - 10:00 a.m.
The congress was opened by Renovabis director Father Dr. Christian Hartl (in the photo collage top right). The first event of the congress was dedicated to the topic "Corona and the people on the edge of society: We have to talk to each other! Around 120 participants exchanged their experiences with people in particular need - e.g. the seriously ill, homeless or refugees. The discussion was moderated by Martin Lenz from the Renovabis project department.

  • Sr. Veronika Mila Popić, Depaul Hrvatska (top left)
  • Dipl.Theol. Ursula Kalb, Community of Sant’Egidio Munich (bottom right) and
  • Miodrag Živković, Jesuit Refugee Service Serbia (bottom left).

Sister Veronika Mila Popić from Croatia reported on her experiences with visitors to the day care centre who were no longer allowed to come to the facility because of the Corona pandemic - and her fears that people could become lonely and depressed. She called for a more intensive examination of the question of how the cracks in society develop, where homelessness, for example, has its origins - this was the point to start from.

Ursula Kalb, a graduate theologian, pleaded for more imagination and flexibility - „not a trace of normality“, she emphasised. Nevertheless, the Community of Sant'Egidio from Munich also sees positive aspects: Many new volunteers have been recruited, including many younger people.

When the Soul is out of Balance: Psychosocial Consequences of the COVID-19 Pandemic

Tuesday, 8 September 2020 - 2:00 p.m.
It is not possible at present to predict the far-reaching consequences of the crisis and its associated restrictions on people's psychosocial development. However, initial studies suggest that many people have perceived the pandemic as an existential threat with drastic consequences for their life prospects. In accordance with the three-step „See - Judge - Act“, this forum dealt with the psychological effects of the corona measures and the lockdown. Discussants were

  • Dr. Klemens Ochel, Medical Mission Institute Würzburg (Moderation; in the poto collage bottom left)
  • Maria Rúdan (Child Protection Officer of the Hungarian Conference of Religious Superiors; bottom right)
  • Dr. András Márton, Caritas Alba Iulia, Romania (bottom centre)
  • Dr. Amir Hasanović, NARKO NE, Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina (top left)

András Márton from Romania reported on many labour migrants who returned home during the peak of the Corona pandemic - with serious consequences: The additional income was lost, but there was one more eater and less space. Sometimes the domestic quarantine took place in a very confined space (sometimes 15 people in two rooms), and homeschooling was added.

Maria Rúdan from Hungary called for the education system to level out differences in order to contribute to equal opportunities. Parents and teachers had to be informed about the dangers of the Internet and social rules on the net had to be pointed out. Due to the increased online time she fears an increase in the search for illegal content on the net - this poses dangers especially for children. An experience which Amir Hasanović from NARKO NE also confirmed. His conclusion: children and young people are the absolute losers of the Corona crisis, especially if they come from socially weak families. It shows how important it is to increase resilience so that people are better able to deal with the effects of the crisis.

Livestream from the House of the Lord? Experiences and Impulses from the Time of the Corona Restrictions

Wednesday, 9 September 2020 - 10:00 a.m.
„Social Distancing“ is a special challenge in pastoral ministry. How are churches in East and West reacting to the COVID 19 pandemic? How have the tasks and requirements for pastoral workers changed? What new ideas has the crisis brought forth? The event was organised in cooperation with the Catholic Centre for Missionary Pastoral Work (KAMP, Erfurt), and was moderated by Andrea Imbsweiler (KAMP).

After some impressions on pastoral offers during the lockdown from different countries in Eastern Europe, there were three short lectures: Dr. Dénes Kiss from the University of Cluj in Romania presented a study that shed light on religious life under the curfew in Transylvania. It was astonishing how well the online transmissions of religious services were received. Users of online services were often younger and better educated, and more women were among them. Prof. Dr. Klára Csiszár (Univ. Linz/Univ. Cluj) formulated pastoral theological considerations in the light of the pandemic experience under the title „How it was before the crisis, it's also in the crisis?“ and drew parallels between the experiences of the church under communism and during the lockdown. Finally, Dr. Hubertus Schönemann (KAMP, Erfurt) presented the situation in Germany and gave the sobering conclusion that the lockdown had further strengthened existing doubts about the official church's authority to interpret the situation.

Humanity and the COVID-19 Pandemic: Biblical Approaches on how to deal with the Crisis

Wednesday, 9 September 2020 - 2:00 p.m.
Whether earthquakes, plague epidemics or sudden death: the question of why a merciful God permits illness and suffering has been asked for thousands of years. In the Old and New Testament, the image of the „suffering righteous man“ is one of the most catchy metaphors, and the Book of Job is dedicated to the subject as a whole.

In a longer impulse (472 KB; 7 pages), Dr. Halyna Teslyuk (lecturer for Old Testament at the Catholic University of Lviv/Ukraine; in the photo collage on the top left) illuminated various aspects of the topic using biblical texts. Her conclusion: The biblical passages, especially in the Book of Job, show how important communities are for overcoming crises. She demanded not to put too much emphasis on liturgical rituals like hand communion or peace greetings, which are not possible in Corona times, but to focus on the community in order to find hope for the future. In the following, partly very personal conversation with Dr. Josip Bošniaković (priest, psychotherapist and lecturer for psychology of religion at the University of Djakovo/Croatia; top right), very concrete experiences from pastoral care, but also private experience were included. The closing words of Dr. Bošniaković, also and especially in the time of the Corona pandemic: „We live in a community where solidarity is necessary“.

Orphaned Educational Institutions and full Data Highways: Church Adult Education in Times of COVID-19

Wednesday, 9 September 2020 - 4:30 p.m.
Within the church, not only pastoral care in the narrower sense was affected by the pandemic, but also church educational institutions, which were no longer able to provide their usual services, and in some cases developed new digital formats. The financial shortfalls have threatened the continued existence of many educational institutions and other adult education programmes - in Germany as well as in Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe.
These problems, but also the chance to break new ground, were the focus of the discussion between

  • Dr. Claudia Pfrang, Directress of the Domberg Academy Freising (likewise moderation)
  • Dr. Jan Heinzl, Director of the Hejnice Monastery's Educational house (Czech Republic)
  • Dr. Šimo Maršić, Director of the Youth Centre „John Paul II“, Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Genuine encounters require spatial togetherness, because communication consists to a large extent of body language. For this reason, digital forms of encounter require different methods - and educational work has to adapt to this, so that it can also work successfully digitally, the panel participants emphasised. Šimo Maršić from Sarajevo (right) described how well the daily short impulses of the Youth Centre "John Paul II" were received on Facebook during the lockdown: the number of young people reached was higher than in the times before the Corona crisis - especially during the crisis the need for conversation was very high.

Europe at the Crossroads: Unity or Dissension – The Corona Crisis and its Consequences for Europe

Thursday, 10 September 2020 - 10:00 a.m.
A visible sign of the crisis at European level was the closure of borders, often without prior notice or consultation with neighbouring countries. The European Union reacted hesitantly and rather helplessly, the crisis within the Union, which had already been smouldering for some time, deepened and new rifts between „North“ and „South“ opened up alongside the existing rifts between „West“ and „East“. But even in the midst of the crisis there was help and solidarity, not least because the churches repeatedly pointed out the unifying factors in Europe.

Under the direction of the journalist Marek Ząjac from Poland (bottom left), MEP Sven Giegold (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen; bottom right) and the religious studies expert Prof. Dr. András Máte-Tóth (bottom centre) from the University of Szeged in Hungary discussed the issue with each other. A video impulse by the President of COMECE, Archbishop Jean-Claude Cardinal Hollerich SJ (Luxembourg; top left), gave initial impulses for the lively discussion. He called for full solidarity in Europe - a community of destiny that had to learn together how to share.

MEP Sven Giegold concluded that the feelings of solidarity had grown - after a difficult beginning, when Germany, for example, kept capacities of intensive care beds open for its own citizens. In the meantime, the political course has also been set more in the direction of solidarity, for example by Europe taking on debt together to help the weakest and most affected countries in Europe. The voice of the church in the crisis, said Giegold, „was not the loudest, to say the least.“ This also applied to the current challenge in Greece (Moria refugee camp).

András Máte-Tóth stressed that the Corona crisis had particularly affected the countries in Eastern, Central and South-Eastern Europe, which had already been weaker than the countries in Western Europe. He added that this was compounded by past experience and, in many cases, the „victim role“ of the people involved. András Máte-Tóth appealed to the churches that especially in the countries of Eastern Europe they had the decisive opportunities to relativise national egoisms and build bridges.

The conclusion of Marek Ząjac: „Every crisis shows the true face of those affected - but it is always also an opportunity to do something better.“

Between Slaughterhouse and Brain Drain: Labour Migration and COVID-19

Thursday, 10 September 2020 - 2:00 p.m.
The still precarious situation of migrant workers in Germany was brought to public attention by the pandemic, when mass infections occurred in the accommodation of slaughterhouses and large agricultural enterprises. Particularly affected were workers from Romania, Bulgaria and other countries of Central and Eastern Europe, whose fate trade unions and churches have been pointing out for years without any significant response. Father Wolfgang Herrmann (top right), head of the Stuttgart corporate chaplaincy, introduced the almost 100 participants to the topic. The COVID-19 pandemic had only made the significance of labour migration clear, although the topic had been known for a long time: in the crisis, Herrmann said, it had become clear as if through a magnifying glass that workers from Eastern Europe were systemically relevant - whether in agriculture, nursing or transport. His remarks were supplemented by Dragana Bubulj ("Fair Mobility" project, Stuttgart; bottom right).

The political scientist Prof. Dr. Tado Jurić from the Croatian Catholic University of Zagreb (bottom left) had clear words about the situation in Croatia: Since 2013 about 50,000 people have emigrated from Croatia to Germany every year. Each of these workers costs Croatia between 50,000 and 100,000 euros - and Germany gets the young, well-educated people for free. Germany in particular could exert a lot of political influence to alleviate the problem of the „brain drain“, „but Germany shows little interest“, says Professor Jurić.

However, the reasons for emigration are not only the higher wages in Germany, but people are also „tired" of fighting corruption in their home countries and getting involved in civil society. This is not least due to the structural problems with power elites that date back to communism.

Greeting words to the congress

Do you have questions or suggestions concerning the Renovabis Congress?

Then simply write us an e-mail or call us:

More about the International Congress Renovabis

Dokumentation

Internationale Kongresse Renovabis

Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse aus Vorträgen, Diskussionsrunden und Workshops aller Renovabis-Kongresse zum Nachlesen oder Herunterladen.
Background

International Congress Renovabis

The International Congress Renovabis is a 2-3 day long conference event with participants from all over Europe. It serves to inform and discuss important developments in church and society in Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe.
Rückblick

22. Internationaler Kongress 2018

„Erinnerung und Aufbruch - Wege zur Versöhnung in Europa“: unter diesem Titel stand der Internationale Kongress 2018, der erstmals in Berlin stattfand. 253 Frauen und Männer aus insgesamt 26 Ländern nahmen daran teil.
Rückblick

21. Internationaler Kongress 2017

Der 21. Internationale Kongress Renovabis fand vom 6.-8. September 2017 zum Thema „Die Krise als Chance für Europa! Die Verantwortung der Kirchen“ in München statt.
Content created: 09.09.2020, last modified: 21.01.2021

Technischer Aufbau für den 24. Internationalen Kongress Renovabis
Der 24. Internationale Kongress Renovabis fand im Jahr 2020 als Online-Konferenz statt.
Quelle: Heike Faehndrich
Rückblick

24. Internationaler Kongress Renovabis

Der Internationale Kongress Renovabis dient seit vielen Jahren dem Dialog zwischen Ost und West. 2020 fand er wegen der COVID-19-Pandemie erstmals als Online-Konferenz statt und setzte den Fokus auch inhaltlich auf die Auswirkungen der Corona-Krise für Kirche und Gesellschaft in Osteuropa.

24. Internationaler Kongress Renovabis

Online statt offline

Ursprünglich sollte der 24. Internationale Kongress Renovabis vom 9.-11. September 2020 in München stattfinden – aufgrund der Reiseeinschränkungen während der COVID-19-Pandemie und um keine unnötigen Risiken für alle Beteiligten einzugehen hat sich das Planungsteam jedoch entschlossen, die geplante Präsenzveranstaltung zum Thema „Ökumene in Mittel- und Osteuropa – Aufgabe und Bereicherung“ auf das Jahr 2021 zu verschieben.
Dennoch wollte Renovabis mit seinen Partnern und Freunden ins Gespräch kommen über das, was die Menschen rund um den Globus in den letzten Monaten beschäftigt: Die Corona-Pandemie. Vom 8.-10. September 2020 fanden deshalb sieben online-basierte Einzelveranstaltungen zum Thema COVID-19: Eine neue Herausforderung für Kirche und Gesellschaft in Ost und West statt. Mehr als 280 Menschen haben sich angemeldet zu den Zoom-basierten Meetings und haben mitdiskutiert, mitgechattet und aufmerksam zugehört.

Corona und die Menschen am Rande der Gesellschaft: Wir müssen miteinander reden!

Dienstag, 8. September 2020 - 10:00 Uhr
Den Kongress eröffnete Renovabis-Hauptgeschäftsführer Pfarrer Dr. Christian Hartl (in der Foto-Collage rechts oben). Die erste Veranstaltung des Kongresses widmete sich dem Thema „Corona und die Menschen am Rande der Gesellschaft: Wir müssen miteinander reden!“ Rund 120 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer tauschten sich aus über ihre Erfahrungen mit besonders bedürftigen Menschen - seien es Schwersterkrankte, Obdachlose oder Geflüchtete. Das Gespräch moderierte Martin Lenz aus der Projektabteilung von Renovabis, auf dem virtuellen Podium sprachen

  • Sr. Veronika Mila Popić, Depaul Hrvatska (links oben)
  • Dipl.Theol. Ursula Kalb, Gemeinschaft Sant’Egidio München (rechts unten) und
  • Miodrag Živković vom Flüchtlingsdienst der Jesuiten in Serbien (links unten).

Schwester Veronika Mila Popić aus Kroatien berichtete von ihren Erlebnissen mit Besuchern der Tagespflege, die wegen der Corona-Pandemie nicht mehr in die Einrichtung kommen durften - und ihren Befürchtungen, dass die Menschen vereinsamen und depressiv werden könnten. Sie forderte dazu auf, sich intensiver mit der Frage auseinanderzusetzen, wie die Risse in der Gesellschaft entstehen, wo etwa Obdachlosigkeit ihren Grund hat - das sei der Punkt, an dem man ansetzen könne.

Die Diplom-Theologin Ursula Kalb plädierte für mehr Fantasie und Flexibilität - „von Normalität keine Spur“, betonte sie. Dennoch sieht die Gemeinschaft Sant'Egidio aus München auch positive Aspekte: So konnten viele neue ehrenamtliche Mitarbeiter gewonnen werden, darunter auch viele jüngere Menschen.

Wenn die Seele aus dem Gleichgewicht gerät: Psychosoziale Folgen der COVID-19-Pandemie

Dienstag, 8. September 2020 - 14:00 Uhr
Welche weiterreichenden Folgen die Krise und die damit verbundenen Beschränkungen für die psychosoziale Entwicklung der Menschen haben werden, lässt sich gegenwärtig noch nicht überschauen. Erste Untersuchungen lassen aber den Schluss zu, dass viele Menschen die Pandemie als existenzielle Bedrohung mit einschneidenden Folgen für ihre Lebensperspektive empfunden haben. Entsprechend dem Dreischritt „Sehen - Urteilen - Handeln" ging es in diesem Forum um die psychischen Auswirkungen der Corona-Maßnahmen und des Lockdowns. Es diskutierten

  • Dr. Klemens Ochel, Missionsärztliches Institut Würzburg (Moderation; in der Foto-Collage unten links)
  • Maria Rúdan (Kinderschutzbeauftragte der ungarischen Ordensoberenkonferenz; unten rechts)
  • Dr. András Márton von der Caritas Alba Iulia, Rumänien (unten Mitte)
  • Dr. Amir Hasanović von NARKO NE, Sarajevo, Bosnien und Herzegowina (oben links)

András Márton aus Rumänien berichtete von vielen Arbeitsmigranten, die in der Hochphase der Corona-Pandemie wieder nach Hause gekommen seien - mit gravierenden Folgen: Das zusätzliche Einkommen fiel weg, dafür gab es einen Esser mehr und weniger Platz. Bisweilen fand die häusliche Quarantäne auf engstem Raum statt (zum Teil 15 Menschen in zwei Zimmern), dazu kam das Homeschooling.

Maria Rúdan aus Ungarn forderte, das Bildungssystem müsse Unterschiede ausgleichen, um zu Chancengleichheit beizutragen. Es gelte, Eltern und Lehrer über Gefahren des Internets aufzuklären und auf soziale Regeln im Netz hinzuweisen. Durch die vermehrte Online-Zeit befürchtet sie eine Zunahme der Suche nach illegalen Inhalten im Netz - das stellt vor allem Gefahren für Kinder dar. Eine Erfahrung, die auch Amir Hasanović von NARKO NE bestätigte. Sein Fazit: Kinder und Jugendliche sind die absoluten Verlierer der Corona-Krise, ganz besonders, wenn sie aus sozial schwachen Familien kommen. Es zeigt sich, wie wichtig es ist, Resilienz zu erhöhen, damit Menschen besser in die Lage versetzt werden, mit den Auswirkungen der Krise umzugehen.

Livestream aus dem Haus des Herrn? Erfahrungen und Impulse aus der Zeit der Corona-Einschränkungen

Mittwoch, 9. September 2020 - 10:00 Uhr
„Social Distancing“ ist in der Pastoral eine besondere Herausforderung. Wie reagieren Kirchen in Ost und West auf die COVID-19-Pandemie? Wie haben sich Aufgaben und Anforderungen für Seelsorger(innen) verändert? Welche neuen Ideen hat die Krise hervorgebracht? Die Veranstaltung wurde in Kooperation mit der Katholischen Arbeitsstelle für Missionarische Pastoral (KAMP, Erfurt) durchgeführt, die Moderation übernahm Andrea Imbsweiler (KAMP).

Nach Impressionen zu pastoralen Angeboten während des Lockdown aus verschiedenen Ländern Osteuropas gab es drei Kurzvorträge: Dr. Dénes Kiss von der Universität Cluj in Rumänien stellte eine Studie vor, die das religiöse Leben unter der Ausgangssperre in Transsylvanien beleuchtete. Erstaunlich war, wie gut die Online-Übertragungen von Gottesdiensten angenommen wurden. Dabei waren die Nutzer/-innen der Online-Angebote häufig jünger und besser gebildet; auch waren mehr Frauen darunter. Prof. Dr. Klára Csiszár (Univ. Linz/Univ. Cluj) formulierte unter dem Titel „Wie vor der Krise so auch in der Krise?“ pastoraltheologische Überlegungen angesichts der Pandemieerfahrungen und zog Parallelen zwischen den Erfahrungen von Kirche im Kommunismus und im Lockdown. Schließlich stellte Dr. Hubertus Schönemann (KAMP, Erfurt) die Situation in Deutschland vor und gab das ernüchternde Fazit: Der Lockdown habe bereits vorhandene Zweifel an der Deutungshoheit der Amtskirche weiter verstärkt.

Mensch und Menschlichkeit in der COVID-19-Pandemie: Biblische Ansätze zum Umgang mit der Krise

Mittwoch, 9. September 2020 - 14:00 Uhr
Ob Erdbeben, Pestepidemien oder aber plötzlicher Tod: Die Frage, warum ein barmherziger Gott Krankheit und Leiden zulässt, wird seit Jahrtausenden gestellt. Im Alten und Neuen Testament zählt das Bild vom „leidenden Gerechten“ zu den eingängigsten Metaphern, und das Buch Hiob ist als Ganzes der Thematik gewidmet.

In einem längeren Impuls beleuchtete Dr. Halyna Teslyuk (Lehrbeauftragte für Altes Testament an der Kath. Univ. Lviv/Ukraine; in der Foto-Collage oben links) verschiedene Aspekte des Themas anhand biblischer Texte. Ihr Fazit: Die biblischen Stellen, gerade im Buch Hiob, zeigen, wie wichtig Gemeinschaften sind, um Krisen zu überwinden. Sie forderte, nicht zu viel Wert auf liturgische Rituale wie Handkommunion oder Friedensgruß zu legen, die in Corona-Zeiten nicht möglich seien, sondern die Gemeinschaft in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen, um Hoffnung für die Zukunft zu finden. Im anschließenden, teils sehr persönlichen Gespräch mit Dr. Josip Bošniaković (Priester, Psychotherapeut und Dozent für Religionspsychologie an der Univ. Djakovo/Kroatien; oben rechts) flossen ganz konkrete Erfahrungen aus der Seelsorge, aber auch dem privaten Erleben mit ein. Das Schlusswort von Dr. Bošniaković, auch und gerade in der Zeit der Corona-Pandemie: „Wir leben in einer Gemeinschaft, in der Solidarität notwendig ist.“

Verwaiste Bildungshäuser und volle Datenautobahnen: Die kirchliche Erwachsenenbildung in den Zeiten von COVID-19

Mittwoch, 9. September 2020 - 16:30 Uhr
Von der Pandemie betroffen waren innerhalb der Kirche nicht nur die Seelsorge im engeren Sinne, sondern auch kirchliche Bildungseinrichtungen, die ihre üblichen Angebote nicht mehr durchführen konnten, teilweise aber auch neue digitale Formate entwickelten. Durch die finanziellen Ausfälle sind viele Bildungshäuser und weitere Angebote der Erwachsenenbildung in ihrem Fortbestand bedroht - in Deutschland ebenso wie in Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropa.
Diese Probleme, aber auch die Chance, neue Wege zu beschreiten, standen im Mittelpunkt des Gesprächs zwischen

  • Dr. Claudia Pfrang, Direktorin der Domberg-Akademie Freising (zugleich Moderation)
  • Dr. Jan Heinzl, Direktor des Bildungshauses Kloster Hejnice (Tschechien)
  • Dr. Šimo Maršić, Leiter des Jugendhauses „Johannes Paul II.“, Sarajevo (Bosnien und Herzegowina)

Echte Begegnung erfordert räumliches Zusammensein, denn Kommunikation besteht zu einem großen Anteil auch aus Körpersprache. Deshalb erfordern digitale Begegnungsformen andere Methoden - und die Bildungsarbeit müsse sich darauf einstellen, damit sie auch digital erfolgreich arbeiten kann, betonten die Teilnehmer des Panels. Šimo Maršić aus Sarajevo (rechts) beschrieb, wie gut in der Zeit des Lockdown die täglichen kurzen Impulse des Jugendhauses „Johannes Paul II.“ auf Facebook ankamen: die Anzahl der erreichten Jugendlichen sei höher gewesen als in den Zeiten vor der Corona-Krise - gerade während der Krise sei der Gesprächsbedarf sehr groß gewesen.

Europa am Scheideweg: Einigkeit oder Zwietracht – Die Corona-Krise und ihre Folgen für Europa

Donnerstag, 10. September 2020 - 10:00 Uhr
Sichtbares Zeichen der Krise auf europäischer Ebene waren die Grenzschließungen, die oft ohne Vorankündigung oder Absprache mit den Nachbarländern erfolgten. Die Europäische Union reagierte zögerlich und eher hilflos, die bereits länger schwelende Krise innerhalb der Union vertiefte sich, neben den bereits bestehenden Gräben zwischen „West“ und „Ost“ taten sich neue Gräben zwischen „Nord“ und „Süd“ auf. Aber es gab auch mitten in der Krise Hilfe und Solidarität, nicht zuletzt haben die Kirchen immer wieder auf das Verbindende in Europa hingewiesen.

Unter der Leitung des Journalisten Marek Ząjac aus Polen (unten links) diskutierten der Europaabgeordnete Sven Giegold (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen; unten rechts) sowie der Religionswissenschaftler Prof. Dr. András Máte-Tóth (unten Mitte) von der Universität Szeged in Ungarn miteinander. Erste Anregungen für das lebhafte Gespräch gab ein Video-Impuls des Präsidenten der COMECE, Erzbischof Jean-Claude Kardinal Hollerich SJ (Luxemburg; oben links). Er forderte volle Solidarität in Europa - in einer Schicksalsgemeinschaft, die gemeinsam lernen müsse, zu teilen.

Der Europa-Abgeordnete Sven Giegold bilanzierte, dass die Solidaritätsgefühle größer geworden seien - nach einem schwierigen Anfang, als Deutschland beispielsweise Kapazitäten an Intensivbetten für seine eigenen Bürger offengehalten habe. Inzwischen seien auch politisch die Weichen mehr in Richtung Solidarität gestellt worden, etwa indem Europa gemeinsam Schulden aufnimmt, um den schwächsten und am meisten betroffenen Ländern Europas zu helfen. Die Stimme der Kirche in der Krise sei, so Giegold, „nicht die lauteste gewesen, um es vorsichtig zu sagen.“ Dies gelte auch im Blick auf die aktuelle Herausforderung in Griechenland (Flüchtlingslager Moria).

András Máte-Tóth betonte, dass die Corona-Krise gerade die Länder in Ost-, Mittel- und Südosteuropa besonders gebeutelt hätte, die vorher schon schwächer als die Länder in Westeuropa gewesen seien. Dazu kämen die Erfahrungen der Vergangenheit und vielfach auch die damit verbundene „Opfer-Rolle“ der Menschen. András Máte-Tóth appellierte an die Kirchen, gerade in den Ländern im Osten Europas hätten sie die entscheidenden Möglichkeiten, die nationalen Egoismen zu relativieren und Brücken zu bauen.

Das Fazit von Marek Ząjac: „Jede Krise zeigt das wahre Gesicht der Betroffenen - sie ist aber immer auch eine Chance, etwas besser zu machen“.

Zwischen Schlachthof und „Brain Drain“: Arbeitsmigration und COVID-19

Donnerstag, 10. September 2020 - 14:00 Uhr
Die nach wie vor prekäre Situation von Arbeitsmigranten in Deutschland rückte durch die Pandemie schlagartig ins Licht der Öffentlichkeit, als es in den Unterkünften von Schlachthöfen und großen landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben zu Masseninfektionen kam. Betroffen waren besonders Arbeitskräfte aus Rumänien, Bulgarien und anderen Ländern Mittel- und Osteuropas, auf deren Schicksal Gewerkschaften und Kirchen seit Jahren ohne nennenswerte Resonanz hinweisen. Pfarrer Wolfgang Herrmann (oben rechts), der Leiter der Betriebsseelsorge Stuttgart, führte die knapp 100 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer in die Thematik ein. Durch die COVID-19-Pandemie sei die Bedeutsamkeit der Arbeitsmigration erst bewusst geworden, obwohl das Thema seit langem bekannt sei: in der Krise, so Herrmann, sei wie durch eine Lupe klargeworden, dass die Arbeitskräfte aus dem Osten Europas systemrelevant seien - ob in der Landwirtschaft, in der Pflege oder im Transportwesen. Ergänzt wurden seine Ausführungen von Dragana Bubulj (Projekt "Faire Mobilität", Stuttgart; unten rechts).

Klare Worte fand der Politikwissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Tado Jurić von der Kath. Kroatischen Universität Zagreb (unten links) über die Situation in Kroatien: Seit 2013 seien jedes Jahr etwa 50 000 Menschen aus Kroatien nach Deutschland ausgewandert. Jede dieser Arbeitskräfte koste Kroatien zwischen 50 000 und 100 000 Euro - und Deutschland bekomme die jungen, gut ausgebildeten Menschen kostenlos. Vor allem Deutschland könnte politisch viel Einfluß ausüben, um das Problem des „Brain Drain" zu lindern, „Deutschland zeigt aber wenig Interesse", so Professor Jurić.

Allerdings lägen die Ursachen für Auswanderung nicht lediglich in den höheren Löhnen in Deutschland, die Menschen seien auch „müde", in ihren Heimatländern gegen Korruption vorzugehen und sich für die Zivilgesellschaft zu engagieren. Das liege nicht zuletzt an den Strukturproblemen mit Machteliten, die noch aus dem Kommunismus stammen.

Grußworte zum Kongress

Haben Sie Fragen oder Anregungen zum Renovabis-Kongress?

Dann schreiben Sie uns einfach eine E-Mail oder rufen Sie uns an:

Inhalt erstellt: 09.09.2020, zuletzt geändert: 16.09.2020